• Hybrid Return: Health & Safety

  • Parent COVID-19 Education and Acknowledgment Form for Christina Students

    We have created guidance on our COVID-19 protocols as part of an acknowledge form to confirm that all parents receive this important COVID-19 education to support our efforts to reduce the risk of virus spread in our school environments.

    All of our health and wellness protocols are guided by science and the recommendations from the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE), Governor’s Office, Delaware Public Health (DPH), and the Center for Disease Control (CDC). 

     

    COVID-19 Education & Acknowledgement Form - English

    COVID-19 Education & Acknowledgement Form - Spanish

  • When to Keep Students Home

    The Delaware Department of Education and Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health have requested that we provide you information regarding practices related to COVID-19. 

    We request that students and/or their families complete a health assessment consisting of a self-screening every morning before leaving for school.


    Additional Considerations:

    1. Have you been in direct contact (within 6 feet of an infected person for at least 15 minutes) with a person who is Positive for COVID-19 in the past 2 weeks?
      • If yes:
        • If less than 2 weeks, please do NOT send your child to school and contact your child's doctor.
        • If more than 2 weeks, proceed to question #2.

    2. In the last 48 hours, has your child had any of the following NEW symptoms?
      • Fever of 100.4 (38C) or above
      • Sore throat
      • Trouble breathing
      • Headache
      • Body aches or chills
      • New cough, not related to allergies
      • Shortness of breath or wheezing (not asthma related)
      • Chills or repeated shaking with chills
      • Loss of taste or smell, or change in taste
      • Nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea

        If you answered YES to any of the questions above, do NOT send your child to school. Instead, contact your child's doctor.
  • Exhibiting Symptoms?

    Students must stay home if they are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19 or have been confirmed to have COVID-19 or if required by DPH to isolate or quarantine. Keep children who are sick at home; do not send them to school. Do not send children to school with a fever of 100.4º or greater.

    Students with Exposure to COVID-19 

    Parents who have been notified of their student being exposed, should keep their student home and follow the guidance of the local public health department.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What happens if a student or staff member tests positive for COVID-19 during the school year?

  • How will schools meet the behavioral/mental health needs of students, families, and staff?

  • How will the state support districts, charters and private/parochial schools to meet the health and safety guidance?

  • Will COVID-19 testing be made available to staff and students?

  • How should schools prepare to respond to positive COVID cases?

  • How should the school expect to find out that a student or staff member has tested positive for COVID-19?

  • What happens once DPH learns that a student, teacher, bus driver or other school staff member tests positive for COVID?

  • What is the testing protocol for close contacts of positive cases?

  • Are parents notified about a positive test in the school?

  • Are there special cleaning protocols schools must follow after a positive case?

  • Will educators have to use sick leave if they must quarantine/self-isolate due to COVID-19?