

Mayor-elect Carney Announces Transition Committee and Website

Kevin F. Kelley, Sr. and Doneene K. Damon, Esq. to co-chair transition

WILMINGTON, DE – Mayor-elect John Carney on Tuesday, November 12, 2024, announced the members of his mayoral transition team. Kevin F. Kelley, Sr. and Doneene K. Damon, Esq. will co-chair the transition committee for the 57th Mayor of the City of Wilmington.

"I am proud to announce Kevin and Doneene as co-chairs of my mayoral transition committee. Both are distinguished leaders with deep roots in our community, a commitment to public service, and a shared vision for a bright future for our City," said Mayor-elect John Carney. "Their experience, integrity, and passion for progress will be invaluable to build an even stronger and inclusive city for all Wilmingtonians. I am confident that with Doneene, Kevin, and the entire transition committee, we will lay the groundwork for effective and innovative solutions that will continue to move our city forward."

Kelley served as a 20-year member of Wilmington City Council, representing the 6th District. Kelley also served in state government with the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services in various financial management and budgeting positions, including serving as the Director and Deputy Director of the Division of Management Services. Kelley is a resident of the Bayard Square neighborhood of Wilmington.

Damon serves as a Director of Richards, Layton, & Finger as well as on the board of Redwood Trust, Inc. and Brown Advisory Trust Company. Damon also served as the initial co-chair of the Delaware Prosperity Partnership and also served as co-chair for then Governor-elect John Carney's gubernatorial transition.

Kelley and Damon will lead more than 40 Delawareans with diverse backgrounds and areas of expertise. The committee will assist in the seamless transition of city operations while developing recommendations to the Mayor-elect and his team. The transition will be divided into four subcommittees: Effective Government; Jobs and Economic Development; Strong Neighborhoods; and Vibrant Communities.

The members of the subcommittees of the transition are as follows:

Effective Government

- Tanya Washington Chair
- Lynn Howard
- Kevin F. Kelley Sr
- William Montgomery
- Brian Murphy
- Charles McDowell
- The Hon. Hanifa Shabazz

Jobs and Economic Development

- The Hon. Darius Brown, Chair
- Desmond Baker
- Dr. Mark Brainard
- Doneene Damon, Esq.
- Yvonne Deadwyler
- Mary Dugan
- Thère DuPont
- Michael Hare
- Vandell Hampton
- Charles Madden
- Megan McGlinchey
- Norman Oliver
- Ronaldo Tello
- Shavonne White

Strong Neighborhoods

- Eugene Young, Chair
- Kenyetta Byrd
- Paul Calistro
- Daryl "Wolfie" Chambers
- John Cook
- Walter Ferris
- Raymond Fitzgerald
- Rev. Dr. Stanley Hearst II
- Dwight Holden
- The Hon. Colonel Nathaniel McQueen
- Gabriel Pabbon, Jr.
- Wali Rushdan
- Priscilla Rikestraw
- AJ Schall

Vibrant Communities

- Laura Burgos, Chair
- Amanda August
- Raye Jones Avery
- Ashley Davis
- The Hon. Charles "Bud" Freel
- Dr. George E. Gibson II
- Molly Giordano
- Dorrell Green, Ed.D.
- The Hon. Margaret Rose Henry
- Logan Herring
- Deirdra Joyner
- Sarah Lester
- Cassandra Marshall
- Maria Matos
- Francis "Skip" Pennella
- Jamar Rahming
- Shelly Rouser

Mayor-elect Carney also launched johncarney.org/transition, a webpage that will help Wilmington residents stay informed about the transition process, send ideas and feedback to the Mayor-elect and his transition team, and submit resumes to be considered for positions in the next mayoral administration.

City of Wilmington residents can submit an employment interest application on johncarney.org/transition or by sending a resume to transition@johncarney.org.

###