# New Castle County Combined Boards of Education

#### **AGENDA**

Date: Friday, March 22, 2024

Time: 7:30 a.m.: Breakfast, Socialization

8:00 a.m.: Public Meeting

In-Person: Hilton Wilmington/Christiana

100 Continental Drive, Newark, DE 19713

Virtual: <a href="https://www.christinak12.org/Combined-Boards">https://www.christinak12.org/Combined-Boards</a>

Following a buffet breakfast provided for the presenter(s), School Board Members and their staff, the public session will commence at 8:00 a.m.\*

The agenda is as follows:

- Welcome and Introductions by Mr. Donald Patton
   President, Christina School District Board of Education
  - » Host duties rotate between districts.
  - » Christina School District is serving as the host for the 2023-2024 school year.
- Presentation: Cultivating a Culture of Care to Create Safe and Supportive Schools for All with Dr. Teri Lawler
  - » Following the presentation, attendees can participate in the discussion focused on current and future initiatives to create sage and supportive schools for all.
- Participating districts are invited to present an optional two-minute highlight or update on a matter of general interest.

The meeting will end whenever the discussion concludes. Because the individuals in attendance lack the authority to take action, there will be no motions to convene or adjourn the meeting.

\*Attendees not affiliated with the Combined Boards will not be provided with a meal.



# APPOQUINIMINK SCHOOL DISTRICT

Michelle Wall President Norm Abrams Nichelle DeWitt Richard Forsten, Esq. Tashiba Graham

## BRANDYWINE SCHOOL DISTRICT

John Skrobot, III President Ralph Ackerman Rev. Shanika Dickerson Jason Heller Kristin Pidgeon Kimberly Stock

# CHRISTINA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Donald Patton
President
Dr. Naveed Baqir
Y. F. Lou
Douglas Manley
Monica Moriak
Dr. Claire O'Neal
Alethea Smith-Tucker
Daniel Okagbare (Student)

# COLONIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Christopher Piecuch, Sr. President Robin Crossan Dr. Keenan Dorsey Ronald D. Handy, Sr. Joseph T. Laws Christina L. Smith Ja'Lisa K. White Adrianna Hutton (Student)

## NEW CASTLE COUNTY VO-TECH SCHOOL DISTRICT

Yvette Santiago President Cheryl A. Dennis Hon. Robert F. Gilligan Hon. James Johnson Madeline Johnson Nello M. Paoli, Jr. Mark S. Stellini

### RED CLAY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT

Jose Matthews President Jason Casper Aje' English-Wynn Victor J. Leonard, Sr. Kecia T. Nesmith Catherine H. Thompson Martin A. Wilson, Sr.

Mission: The New Castle County Combined Boards of Education is committed to promoting strong and effective public schools by working collaboratively with our member boards and other stakeholder groups including the Department of Education, State Board of Education, elected officials and the public to identify and address emerging needs. Using our combined intellects and strengthened numbers, we seek to: influence statewide decision-making through educational outreach & lobbying activities; promote a positive image for Delaware's public schools; enhance inter-district communication; and promote the effective use of resources.