Return to Headlines

School Board Candidate Forums Scheduled for April 29 and May 4

Two School Board Candidate Forums have been scheduled by the Delaware PTA and Friends of Christina School District (FOCSD) to introduce candidates running for the three seats up for election on the Christina Board of Education. The three open seats are in District "B," "F," and "G," but ALL residents may vote in the election for any of the three open seats. The Board Candidate Forums will be held on the following dates:

  • Thursday, April 29, 7:00-8:00 PM – Hosted by the Delaware PTA, First State Educate & S.A.F.E. Schools
  • Tuesday, May 4, 7:00-8:00 PM – Hosted by the Friends of Christina School District

 The candidates running for the open seats are:

 Nominating District "B" – Term expires June 30, 2026

  • Monica Moriak

  Nominating District "F" – Term expires June 30, 2026

  • Warren K. Howell
  • Naveed Baqir

 Nominating District "G" – Term expires June 30, 2022

  • Susan V. Mitchell
  • Delilah Starcks
  • Donald B. Patton

 School Board Elections will be held on May 11, 2021. Polls are open from 7:00 AM until 8:00 PM. 

Absentee Voting Process: To obtain an Absentee Ballot Application or for additional information, click here. Please note: Voters are permitted to vote by absentee for the reason "I am sick or physically disabled" if they are impacted by COVID-19. This includes those who are practicing self-quarantining or social distancing. (Source: Dept. of Elections)

Maps of nominating districts in the Christina School District, voting locations, and other information are available on the Department of Elections website. Contact the Department of Elections for New Castle County's Elections Unit at (302) 577-3464 for more information.