Return to Headlines

Five Christina Schools Recognized for Academic Achievement

DECEMBER 2, 2019 – Today, Secretary of Education Susan Bunting recognized five schools from the Christina School District for their students’ academic achievement.

Christiana High School and Middle School Honors Academy is only one of two schools in the state to receive the 2019 National ESEA Distinguished and Recognition School Award. Etta J. Wilson Elementary and West Park Place Elementary (a National Blue-Ribbon School) were named Schools of Continued Excellence because they earned Recognition School honors last year and had outstanding performance again this year. In addition, R. Elisabeth Maclary Elementary School and Joseph M. McVey Elementary School received the Recognition School Award.

These schools have been selected because students showed exceptional performance on state tests or made remarkable progress in closing the achievement gaps between student groups, including those from low-income families, racial minority groups and students with disabilities.

Each building named a 2019 Recognition School will receive an $8,000 award. Funding for the awards comes from the state's school improvement funds. Representatives from all of the honored schools gathered today at North Dover Elementary School for the award ceremony.

“This is a wonderful accomplishment for these five schools,” Superintendent Gregg said. “We want students to go out in the world prepared to be productive citizens.”

Congratulations to our students, staff and school leaders (see photos below).

  • Christiana High School and Middle School Honors Academy: National ESEA Distinguished School (Eunique Lawrence, Principal)
  • Wilson Elementary: School of Continued Excellence (Natalie Birch, Principal)
  • West Park Elementary: School of Continued Excellence (Tracy Novack, Principal)
  • Maclary Elementary: Recognition School (Bart Dryden, Principal)
  • McVey Elementary: Recognition School (Dave Wilkie, Principal)

Christiana High School - National ESEA Distinguished School

Maclary Elementary School - Recognition School    

McVey Elementary School - Recognition School

West Park Elemetary School - School of Continued Excellence

Wilson Elementary School - School of Continued Excellence