Middle School Advanced Academic Programs

  • Middle School Advanced Academic StudentsCambridge Secondary I Curriculum

    Gauger-Cobbs, Kirk, and Shue-Medill Middle Schools
    At our three traditional middle schools, we offer an advanced academic curriculum based on the Cambridge Secondary I Program in English, Global Perspectives (Social Studies), and Science, as well as advanced mathematics courses that allow 7th and 8th grade students to earn high school credits. The Cambridge Program is part of a global learning community of 10,000 schools that also offers opportunities to link with other schools around the world. The new middle school Cambridge curriculum will prepare students for any of the academically advanced programs offered at all three Christina high schools.

    • Grades 6, 7 and 8
    • Cambridge Program
      • English Language Arts (ELA)
      • Science
      • Global Perspectives (Social Studies)
    • Advanced Math Courses: Core Plus, Integrated Math (IM) I and II (high school credit is available for IM courses)
  • Middle School Honors Academy at Christiana High School

     Christiana High School Campus
    The Christina School District offers a Middle School Honors Academy (MSHA) at Christiana High School, serving students in grades 6-8. We launched the program in 2017 to create a 6-12 grade option at Christiana High School, which currently offers an Honors Academy for students in grades 9-12.
    Students applying to the program are required to complete an Honors Academy application and a Choice application. Applicants will be selected based on their application as well as their potential for success in a rigorous academic program in grades 6-12 that will include Honors courses, pre-Advanced Placement (AP) preparation, Advanced Placement classes, and college-level coursework.
    The MSHA is located in the H-wing of Christiana High School. The middle school students take classes separate from the high school students but will be able to take advantage of the many resources available in a high school setting.
  • LEVEL I: Nine Higher Order Thinking Strategies (based on de Bono, 9 Hats Theory)

  • LEVEL II: Differentiated Lessons in Areas of Academic Strengths

  • LEVEL III: Pull Out Advanced Academic Program

  • LEVEL IV: Pull Out Advanced Academic Program